Treating Your Kids’ Cough

Autumn is here!

And it is glorious! Well, except for the part where viruses are carried on the very air you breathe and your kids come down with something gross…one. At. A. Time.

Tank, our darling almost four-year-old, is prone to croup cough. Now that he’s past the typical age of kids who catch it, I’m hoping this year will go better. That poor kid would catch it at least twice a year. The first time was terrifying. I sat with him on my lap in the rocking chair, holding him in a mostly-seated position on a pillow — for hours. His wheezing was so scary. I gave him a small dose of Hyland’s 4 Kids Cold and Cough.  The wheezing stopped almost instantly, so I waited out the night with him and went to the doctor, first thing in the morning.

The second night, when I woke to his wheezing and coughing, I took him downstairs and opened the freezer. I let him breathe in the cold air – per the doctor’s instructions. After a few minutes of that, I took some Oreganol P73, dropped about 3 drops of it into a tablespoon of coconut oil, and slathered it onto his feet. I covered them with socks, then gave him a new dose of Hyland’s. His cough went away within moments and he fell fast asleep. After that second night, at the first sign of croup, I would use the oil and Hyland’s, and he’d be fine for the rest of the night.

During all that time, I had a humidifier running. We still use the same humidifier now. The Crane Drop Shape Ultrasonic Cool Mist Humidifier. The output of mist is amazing on this thing and really gets the humidity going in the room. If you put it on the highest setting, there will be water on the ground to clean up in the morning. But, it does the job!

This is my own experience, and I imagine it may not work for everyone, but as a mom, I’m willing to try anything that won’t hurt. In the end, this is four cases of croup cut short and Tank was quickly on the mend.

Give it a shot and let us know how it works for you!


14292365_125245531263962_3218450708591990267_nDiana, AKA the Goblin Queen, is a fantasy children’s author, lifestyle blogger, and mother to nine kids. Connect on Instagram and Twitter to keep up with Goblin Queen’s shenanigans!

Leave a Reply

